Skip to main content
Success Center

Change the meeting server

By default, all GlobalMeet meeting rooms use the regional meeting server specified for the site. While traveling in a different region, a client can get better meeting performance if their meeting room points to the server for that region.

The meeting server stores your meeting room's files and recordings in the default region selected. After you change the meeting server, the server you selected starts storing them in the new region.

Important: Existing files and recordings do not move over to the new server.

Users can change the meeting server location for their own rooms, via Meeting Settings and the Admin Portal > Edit Web Room

Note: You must edit the meeting room to choose a different meeting server. You cannot select the meeting server when creating a client or a meeting room.

To change the meeting server:

  1. Search for a client.
  2. In the search results, find the client and under Actions, click the Edit button.
    View example »
    SearchForAClient-Results-ClientSelected-EditButton_cropped+cursor.png
  3. On the Edit a Client page, click [+] View Web Meeting Rooms. Find the meeting room you want to make changes to and click the Edit button.
    View example »
    EditAClientPage-WebMeetingRooms_cropped.png
  4. On the Edit an Always Available Meeting Room page, click Change Meeting Server and then select a meeting server location for the meeting room.
    View example »
    EditAClient-EditAWebRoom-ChangeMeetingServer_cropped+simplify.png

    EditAClient-EditAWebRoom-MeetingServerDropdownList_cropped.png

  5. Click Save.
  • Was this article helpful?